Circulation

26 Feb

Circulation is important to any space to allow the users to move around with ease.  I always design with good circulation in mind as I pretend to walk through the space.  The way that I have visioned circulation in the medical and wellness spa, other than in the floor plans, is by adding a design element through different points down the hallway to move the user through the space.

I chose to show circulation on the 4th floor which is full of yoga studios, the juice bar, and the retail area.

Relating back to my concept, the “3 states of water” I chose to relate the concept to my floor plan by each floor representing a “state” of water, gas, liquid, and a solid.  So in this case, the solid represents the 4th floor which I have shown here.

These are the chairs I will use for the sitting area in the hallway, right now I’m thinking a blue fabric or a striped blue, green, and white fabric.

To expand on this idea I am thinking of a flooring pattern or keeping the geometric element moving up onto the ceiling to keep the flow of the space going.

Armstrong BioBased Tile “Striations” – ‘Java’ will be used for the flooring and different tones of greens and blues will be used for the wall colors.  Vibrant, but still a relaxing feel.

4 Responses to “Circulation”

  1. dustinwestfall 02/29/2012 at 12:41 am #

    The partitions with the cutout geometric patterns are exciting! What type of material are you using?

    • jlwooddesign 02/29/2012 at 12:49 am #

      I’m thinking formica solid surfacing in white so its clean and sleek! do you have any fabulous ideas?

      • dustinwestfall 02/29/2012 at 10:18 am #

        I was curious to make sure you weren’t producing a lot of waste with new construction (gyp would be a very non sustainable solution). Would formica producuce waste too? is there something that could be cut with few seams and minimal waste? Not really something to dwell on in your process until you start your construction documents, but definitely something to consider. Those partitions are so exciting, I’d hate for them to have a large cons just for the materiality. If I come across a recommended product I’ll definitely pass it on! Keep designing girl, you’ve got this!

  2. jlwooddesign 03/01/2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Yes, definitely something to think about! What do you think about back painted glass??http://mindfuldesignconsulting.com/back-painted-glass-commercial-interior-design-ideas/ Jenn and Aubrey recommended it to me yesterday and I love the look of it!

Leave a Reply

