Archive | 11:30 am

Summer Internship

17 May

I am so blessed to have been offered a summer internship at Looney and Associates in Dallas, Texas. I am in love with the work they do and couldn’t be happier that I get to work on their projects and learn from them this summer!

Looney and Associates is an Architecture and Interior Design firm that specializes in Hotels and Resorts! Offices are located in Dallas and Chicago!

Since I was little, I have been interested in hotel design, it may even be what sparked my interest in Interior Design! With my family owning 3 hotels in my hometown, I got to experience the process of them being built.  My dad always took me to the construction sites and I’m sure I complained about it, but I’m glad he made me go. Even though I was young, I can still remember small details in the construction and interiors.  My dad always had boards with carpet samples on them in his office, trying to pick out the best color choice for the hotels. That is one thing I remember.  After seeing these hotels being built and even working in one in high school, I feel like I have a high understanding of hotel design.  There is something about knowing what all went into the spacial layout and design and getting to see the stuff the public doesn’t see.

Here is one of my favorite projects by Looney and Associates, The Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf Hotel in San Francisco, California

Also, I had the opportunity to stay in the Hotel del Coronado in San Diego, California in 2008. The Hotel del Coronado is a very old hotel but some villas are newly renovated, this is the part that Looney and Associates has designed! I had just started Interior Design back then and as I am always mesmerized with hotel rooms and take pictures of them all, I remember walking in the very, spacious hotel room and saying, “Wow! this is amazing!!” I loved everything about it! Come to find out, when I was applying for internships I was drawn to this firm because I had stayed in a hotel they had designed!!

My goal for the future is to go stay in as many hotels that Looney and Associates has designed and hopefully one day I’ll get to stay in a Hotel that I helped design!! Can’t wait!

Check out the website and view the rest of their projects!

http://www.looney-associates.com/